Back to Blog

Anthropic launches Claude Marketplace: connectors, plugins, agents and partners

Anthropic opened the Claude Marketplace on 23 September 2026, with over 2,000 connectors and plugins, agents you buy with committed spend, and service partners.

Mira Castellan7 min read

Anthropic opened the Claude Marketplace on 23 September 2026. It is a single catalog covering three things that used to be found separately: connectors and plugins you add to Claude, Claude-powered agents and products you buy with money you have already committed to Anthropic, and consulting partners who roll Claude out for you. If you use Claude Code, nothing about /plugin install changes today, but the catalog those commands point at now lives inside the marketplace.

#What did Anthropic actually announce?

The announcement post is dated 23 September 2026 and opens: "Starting today, the Claude Marketplace brings plugins and connectors, agents and products, and service partners into one place."

It describes three things a customer can do, and Anthropic's own wording for each is worth keeping straight, because the three are paid for very differently.

SectionWhat it listsNamed examples in the announcementHow you pay
Connectors and pluginsIntegrations you add to Claude. "more than 2,000 available today"Atlassian, Google, Microsoft, Notion, SalesforceNot stated in the announcement
Agents and productsClaude-powered software sold by other companiesCrowdStrike, Cursor, Harvey, Legora, Lovable, Snowflake"Use a portion of your committed Anthropic spend"
Service partnersConsultancies and systems integrators from the Claude Partner NetworkAccenture, Boston Consulting Group, DeloitteNot stated in the announcement

The middle row is the commercially interesting one. Anthropic is letting a customer spend part of an existing Anthropic commitment on someone else's software. The announcement names CodeRabbit, which put part of its Anthropic commitment toward Vercel, and Power Digital and ThoughtSpot, which both did the same with Snowflake.

#Does this change how Claude Code plugins work?

Not as far as either page we checked says. Claude Code still has to know about a marketplace before you can install from it, and any marketplace other than Anthropic's official one is added once with /plugin marketplace add. The official one needs no add step, because Claude Code registers it for you the first time you start an interactive session, so installing from it is a single command:

shell
/plugin install commit-commands@claude-plugins-official

What has moved is the web catalog. claude.com/plugins, the address the Claude Code documentation used to send readers to for the official plugin catalog, now answers with a 308 redirect to https://claude.com/marketplace/plugins, a page whose title is "Plugins | Claude Marketplace | Claude by Anthropic". We ran that redirect ourselves on 24 September and again on 25 September 2026. The listings there are recognisably the same official plugins the Claude Code docs describe, including Security Guidance, Commit Commands, PR Review Toolkit, the TypeScript and Pyright language servers, GitHub, Vercel, Atlassian, Figma, Supabase and Slack.

One caution about following our citations to that documentation. Anthropic reorganised its plugin documentation on 25 September 2026, while this post was in review: code.claude.com/docs/en/discover-plugins now serves a page titled "Install and manage plugins", and the trust warnings moved to a new page at /docs/en/plugins/security. Every quotation below is taken from the page that carries it today, and cited to that page.

Two numbers on these pages do not mean the same thing, and it is easy to merge them by mistake. The announcement's "more than 2,000" covers the whole connectors and plugins category. The plugins page carries a much smaller count of its own, and it moves: it read 337 plugins on 24 September 2026 and 340 on 25 September, with filters for whether a listing works with Claude or with Claude Code. Neither page explains the relationship between the two figures, so do not read the smaller number as a subset of the larger one.

Want step-by-step guides for this and more?

ClawDocx Pro includes 500+ curated prompts, setup guides, SKILL.md files, and templates — everything to make your AI agent unstoppable.

See plans & pricing

#What does this mean for people building on Claude?

The builder paths in the announcement are the part worth reading twice, because they name the standards rather than a proprietary format:

Building for teams that use Claude? Create a connector or plugin using the Model Context Protocol (MCP) and Agent Skills, the open standards pioneered by Anthropic.

That is the same Model Context Protocol and the same Agent Skills format that already work in Claude Code, so a connector or skill you have written is not a new artifact for the marketplace. If you have not built one yet, our guide to Claude Code skills and custom slash commands covers the skill side, and the Claude platform hub tracks the product itself.

The other two builder paths are commercial rather than technical. Selling a Claude-powered agent or product means applying to list it, after which "Teams can then use a portion of their committed Anthropic spend to buy it". Offering consulting means joining the Claude Partner Network.

#What the announcement does not say

Several things a reader will reasonably want are absent from the pages we read, and we would rather name them than guess:

  • Eligibility. The announcement does not say which plans or regions can buy through the marketplace. "Committed Anthropic spend" implies a commitment already exists, but nothing on the pages we checked defines the threshold.
  • Pricing. No prices appear on the announcement or on the marketplace landing page.
  • Review standards. Some plugin listings carry an "Anthropic verified" badge and many do not. Neither page states what verification involves.
  • How the marketplace and the CLI relate. This was open when the announcement landed, and Anthropic answered it two days later. The reorganised documentation now says that a plugin found on claude.com/marketplace carries a Claude Code button which copies the install command in its shell form, claude plugin install <name>@claude-plugins-official. So the marketplace listings are the official marketplace catalog, reached through the same CLI as before rather than through a separate install path.

#Should you install from it?

Apply the same caution you would to any third-party code. Claude Code's own documentation is blunt about it:

A Claude Code plugin you install can execute arbitrary code on your machine with your user privileges.

The same page is specific about the mechanism: "command hooks execute shell commands with your full user permissions", and "Claude Code runs hooks and MCP servers outside the sandbox".

On trust it says:

Make sure you trust a plugin before installing, updating, or using it. Anthropic does not control what MCP servers, files, or other software are included in plugins and cannot verify that they will work as intended or that they won't change.

The last clause is the one to sit with. A plugin you audited today can change under you, because marketplaces and their installed plugins update in the background. A marketplace listing is a distribution channel, not an endorsement, and ClawDocx does not vouch for any third-party plugin or skill. Before you install someone else's bundle of skills, hooks and MCP servers, work through our skill security audit checklist.

#What to watch next

The convergence question is already half answered, two days in. The marketplace hands a Claude Code user a command to paste rather than installing anything itself, so the CLI remains the thing that installs. Claude Code also treats a claude.ai account as its own source of plugins, syncing every plugin you or your organisation turns on there, and it can add a marketplace listed on claude.ai by name. The documentation is explicit that this runs one way only: plugins you install with /plugin or claude plugin install stay on that machine and are not added back to your claude.ai account.

So the open part is narrower than it looked on launch day: not whether the two meet, but whether the marketplace ever installs directly instead of handing over a command. We will update this post when Anthropic documents it.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Claude Marketplace?
It is a catalog Anthropic opened on 23 September 2026 that lists connectors and plugins, agents and products, and service partners in one place. Anthropic's announcement says it is live today and describes more than 2,000 connectors and plugins available at launch.
Does the Claude Marketplace replace the /plugin commands in Claude Code?
No. Claude Code still adds a marketplace with /plugin marketplace add and installs from it with /plugin install <plugin>@<marketplace>, as its plugin documentation describes. What changed is the web catalog: claude.com/plugins now answers with a 308 redirect to claude.com/marketplace/plugins, and a plugin listed there carries a Claude Code button that copies the shell form of the install command.
Do I have to pay to use the Claude Marketplace?
Anthropic's announcement does not state a price for browsing, and the marketplace pages we checked require no sign-in to browse. For the agents and products section, the announcement says teams use a portion of their committed Anthropic spend, so that part assumes an existing spend commitment.
How do developers list something on the Claude Marketplace?
The announcement gives three paths: build a connector or plugin with the Model Context Protocol and Agent Skills, apply to list a Claude-powered agent or product, or join the Claude Partner Network to appear as a service partner.
Are marketplace plugins safe to install?
Treat them the way you would any third-party code. Claude Code's plugin security page says a plugin you install can execute arbitrary code on your machine with your user privileges, and that Anthropic cannot verify that plugins will work as intended or that they will not change after you review them. Some listings carry an Anthropic verified badge and many do not, and neither page says what the badge involves.

Sources

  1. Claude Marketplace: one place to discover plugins, agents, and services from our partners
  2. Claude Marketplace
  3. Plugins | Claude Marketplace | Claude by Anthropic
  4. Install and manage plugins (Claude Code docs)
  5. Plugin security and trust (Claude Code docs)

Get the full experience with ClawDocx Pro

Access 500+ prompts, step-by-step guides, SKILL.md files, and more. Everything you need to master OpenClaw.

Start Free Trial

Related Posts